top of page

Contour Line Project

Terminology

Contour lines- define the edges of a form and suggest three-dimensionality

Project

I chose one drawing to create a different piece out of. I decided I wanted to make a mock invitation, so I chose a flower since it is so versatile. After scanning in the contour drawings and cropping it down to the individual picture, I took it into Photoshop to begin editing. My first step was to remove the background and add color to the flower. I then repeated the image and played around with the sizing.

I realized that the look of the flowers with a solid fill was not as appealing to the eye as I wanted it to be, so I chose to overlay watercolor from one of my other art pieces.

I then made four groups of flowers based on their color. I made a dark pink group, light pink, and two different orange and pink groups. I arranged the flowers into a triangular shape to fit the corners of the invitation. I chose the top right and bottom left hand corner to create a diagonal line. I then created a grid to add four lines which breaks up the white space.

Lastly, I added sample text to create an example of what the invitation could potentially look like. I chose an elegant text to complement the flowers and tied in the watercolor with the date.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
1/6
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Subscribe and stay on top of our latest news and promotions

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page